Butterflies

We delight in the beauty of the butterfly, but rarely admit the changes it has gone through to achieve that beauty.  ~Author Unknown

And so it begins. I am already starting to get the butterflies in my stomach. It’s funny, I don’t get the butterflies as often as I used to but I am already having the “What if I’m not good enough?” doubts. I am taking on a whole new genre of music and not only that I am also singing in a different language. It’s scary, but I need to remember to just have fun and enjoy every moment of what I am doing, that’s the trick. You stand up on stage and feel so naked and you know everyone is judging you, especially the other bands that are there playing that same day on the same stage as you. I guess one of the scariest things is that it’s only me and Mike up there with two guitars and one voice. We don’t have a bunch of musicians backing us up so things have to be very tight because mistakes are going to be more noticeable. 

The very first time I performed live in front of people I was shaking. The first four songs I was shaking so hard that my ass cheeks were shaking, I am so not making this up, and they wouldn’t stop. I felt bad for the drummer and sincerely hoped he didn’t notice. Thank goodness those days are gone! I still get the butterflies and nerves, but that is a good thing. It only happens now when I am doing a new venue. And now I really have them because it’s a new venue and new material and a new language! Boy, I sure know how to bite off huge chunks!

Answering Machines Need Love Too, Please Leave a Message after the "BEEP"

