The Beat Goes On?

It’s just a job. Grass grows, birds fly, waves pound the sand. I beat people up. Muhammad Ali

This quote really has nothing to with anything, other than I found it funny and I like Muhammid Ali. The beat I am referring to is drums. I think we may have found a drummer and a bass player. After months of having ads out, changing the ads, recieving numerous calls and e-mails we finally spoke to a drummer named Paul yesterday and he comes with a bass player. He seems like the right fit for us, he’s a pro and has been playing many years, he’s been working with the same bass player for a while now so they are used to each other and he knows and likes our material. He expressed having the same frustrations that we have had with flaky musicians, and believe me musicians are some of the biggest! Now the only thing left to do is see if he’s dependable and can hold a good solid rythm.

Just to show you some examples of some of the gems that I have had to deal with just in the last week alone I though I would share some of the responses. I was contacted by one guy who is a drummer and apparently he’s a very Christian drummer because he felt it was more important to point out his obvious Christian beliefs than talk about music. I told him that no one cares about his religious beliefs and I could have gone my whole life without ever knowing what his convictions were. All I wanted or ever needed to know was if he could hold a beat and was dependable. I guess when I blew off his zealotry I pissed him off because he never responded back.

Then there’s this other clown named Ed who is a bass player. This guy is so egotistical, which happens a lot in this business. Anyway, he didn’t care for our song choices. He seems to only want to do songs by the Eagles and as he put it, he would only play songs that are “vocally” driven. Well hell’s bells man, what does he think we are doing. The songs that we are covering are by such great vocal bands as Pink Floyd, Eric Clapton, Stevie Ray Vaughn, and Fleetwood Mac. I listend to his music on ReverbNation and he does sound an awful lot like Don Henley. I think he should form an Eagles cover band. At the end of the day he said he would rather play alone in his studio than actually play some fun kick ass music. Well, Ed, my egomaniacal friend, have fun with that!

These are just some of my favorite responses. The others have been from bass players and drummers that are already in 2 or 3 other bands that aren’t working, but the committment we are asking from them is too much. Hell they aren’t even working now so it seems like playing one actual gig might be too much for them! As for the rest they say they are interested but don’t return phone calls. Now that I have found what I think we are looking for isn’t it ironic that suddenly I have bass players and drummers coming out of my ears. Life is fun my friends, and the EZ Street saga continues….same bat time same bat channel.

2 thoughts on “The Beat Goes On?

  1. Phil says:

    Sounds like you may have found a two-fer! Hope it works out. But I like that you’re being picky in the process. Making music is no easy thing. Good luck!

Answering Machines Need Love Too, Please Leave a Message after the "BEEP"

