Moving Right Along….

Even if you fall on your face, you’re still moving forward. Victor Kiam 

We had a very productive rehearsal yesterday. We learned a couple of new songs and went over some songs that we haven’t played in awhile. This is all to gear up for the new jam at La Cantina Sociale on Saturday night and also to prepare for the jam on Tuesday nights at The Bird Stop. We are moving indoors after playing outdoors all summer and so now we have to gear down for acoustic sets, at least until Matt, the owner of The Bird Stop, gets the other side of his place up to code. We really don’t know what to expect with this new place we are playing. In fact I have no expectations. I think that’s the best way to approach it at this point. The owner’s business is struggling and I hope this helps him out, hopefully in the end I am hoping that it helps us out as well.

One thing I will tell you is that there are sure a lot of business owners that expect to get musicians to come in and play for free. I don’t know what they are thinking, this is a business just like any other. We have 1,000 of dollars invested into our equipment, not to mention 10’s of 1,000’s of hours invested into rehearsals. It costs us valuable time, gas money and set up time to get to and from each gig, not to mention rehearsal time and hiring on musicians, and yes I do indeed have to pay the musicians that I hire to come play with us. I am willing to help people out, to an extent. Matt and his clan have become like family to us and I know that we have already experienced some great rewards. I know there will be more down the road from him and his family and the great following we have already gotten there. 

BTW, did I mention that my next mission is to learn to play bass and sing? It’s much harder than it sounds. LOL, but I am starting easy with “Under the Boardwalk” and Marv has agreed to give me lessons for $30 a month, which is entirely too generous. Now I just have to find a bass that I can afford with an amp. Stay tuned….

 

2 thoughts on “Moving Right Along….

  1. Phil says:

    Good luck on the upcoming gigs. I’m a little confused – I thought you already sing. Isn’t that you laying down the vocals on Rhiannon? Or did you mean lessons on bass? I probably need another cup of coffee. LOL

Answering Machines Need Love Too, Please Leave a Message after the "BEEP"

