Chemistry

I think there’s a natural chemistry between us as friends; and there’s really no separation between the rapport that we feel when we’re in conversation and when we’re playing music, it’s one in the same. Benny Green

There is a lot to be said about chemistry among band members. You either have it or you don’t. I feel very lucky because I think the chemistry with this band is outstanding. We all work well together and we seem to accomplish things very quickly. I believe that we are all of the same mind, and that is simply just to play music. Mike and I have always had a great chemistry together and beyond the occasional pissing match we have managed to sustain a 10 year working relationship. Everyone said we were going to be like Stevie Nicks and Lindsey Buckingham, that we would never make it, that musical working relationships don’t work. Well we are proof positive that it can and does work. Bobby Day adds a unique chemistry to the band with his edgy leads and we are lucky to have him on board. The fact that he can sing a song or two only adds to the happiness that I have that he is in this band and the fact that Mike and him flow back and forth on the leads so well is amazing to me. Steven McIver is a great drummer. I really love the feel he puts to songs that I have been doing for years, it puts a new spin on these old songs that makes them feel new to me. He has a unique drumming style that I am really enjoying, and now he is even going to sing a song. I think I about fell off my stool when I found that out. He sang “Let’s Work Together” by Canned Heat in rehearsals the other day and did a fantastic job! I haven’t quite figured Ken out yet. We have only rehearsed with him once and played live with him once, but so far I really like what I see and hear. I know the poor guy has got a lot of chaos because he just moved here from Alaska so I have asked Brother Bob to sit in until the 24th and that way everyone wins. There is no pressure on Ken to get settled and he can get his house in order and we can continue to rehearse, build up our set list and work on getting more gigs. At the end of the day, beyond financial problems that everyone seems to be having, I believe we are on track and all is well! With that I leave you with us doing Crossroads…

4 thoughts on “Chemistry

  1. As a female vocalist I can relate to what you are saying regarding band member’s. When you find a good mix in all aspects of working together and inspiring one another it has to be friendship first.Sounds so much like this is what you and are developing with your drummer now.

    Great tine by Canned Heat, great blues band that has long been part of my music library.

    Your version of Crossroads is really pretty good. Not an easy cover for a chick to do, I know. You all have a good mixture of tone and melody along with your vocals are a string tune for you all., you compliment one another nicely. Thanks for adding my Landslide cover to your post. Appreciated~

    Keep on rocking the world in your own style.. it works. And hope to see you come back to my blog Barefoot Baroness.

    • Jaz says:

      Thank you very much. Actually I have been doing Crossroads about 20 years and find it pretty easy. Blues is my genre and I enjoy it a lot. You’re most welcome. Here’s our version of Landslide

      • Great cover, you have a discerning voice style which is a good thing in my mind. I am personally deeply fond of this tune, having done it as well for 30 yrs… no ,make that 40 yrs!! Oh My! I was just counting back.
        . It is one of my all time favorite to hear as well as to do.
        Thanks so much for sharing.

      • Jaz says:

        Thank you love! 🙂

Answering Machines Need Love Too, Please Leave a Message after the "BEEP"

